Review: Everything Leads to You

I don’t read much YA… I didn’t really read it much when I was in high school. But then I remember needing the newest Harry Potter book as soon as it came out, and the summers where I read Twilight over a weekend… But still, I leaned more to the classics. And I am still biased today. I can enjoy YA, but I am guilty of automatically holding it in less regard than say contemporary fiction or classics (i.e. books that cater to adults and deal with difficult topics). That being said, some of them are fantastic at kicking me out of a reading rut. And that’s how I landed on Everything Leads to You

One night (of a few) when I couldn’t sleep, I started browsing tumblr, and all of the ‘booklrs’ I follow in search of something new, something to kick my butt back into reading. And a few of the bloggers I follow had praised this book as being cute and warm and adventurous. Nothing too committed – just what I needed – a one week fling, breeze-through-it book. And it was just what I needed.

I did read this book about 2 years ago, but I remember most everything about it and my opinion, as well. Everything Leads To You, by Nina LaCour, follows a young woman, Emi, who dreams of being THE set designer in Hollywood. She dreams of creating her own place in the movies for all to see. A chance letter written by a Hollywood legend leads Emi straight to Ava, who lives a life anything but extraordinary or even somewhat ordinary. The two embark on a mystery together, to find the true meaning of family, and of love.

I really did enjoy both Emi and Ava’s story, and especially their journey together. The struggles of making it as a young person bring back memories – some I wish I could go back and do again. But beside that, their friendship and their romance is believable. I was rooting for them the whole time, wishing Emi could undo her silly mistakes and that Ava could be a little more open to herself. It makes me want to look back and tell my younger self to not be so hard on myself, and to enjoy the little things a bit more.

If you enjoy reading YA, especially LGBTQ+ novels, this one is for you. It is not sensationalized, but gives a comforting hug to those trying to figure it all out. I am forever a supporter of the community, and I love that there are more and more books out there that can help with the questions that so many people struggle with.

Leave a comment